Skip Navigation LinksFaith-Formation

Home > Formation > Faith Formation

Faith Formation for St. Joseph and St. Martin 

Due to the COVID 19 Virus St. Joseph and St. Martin Faith Formation WILL NOT BE GATHERING IN THE CLASSROOMS. We are asking families to home- school instructions. Please call Betty to receive a text for home study. On the weekend of September 12/13, you are invited to return your registration form and then receive the textbooks in Room 5.  Teachers are preparing to assist you by mail, email or phone calls.

Two years of Faith Formation is required for the reception of First Confession and First Communion.

The Sacrament of Confirmation is received in the 8th grade.

Families are removed from the Faith Formation list after two years of no contact.

Attendance at Mass is of the Utmost Importance!

RCIA - Adult Faith Formation

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) is a journey toward becoming a full, participating member of the Catholic Church. This modern rite was restored in the late 1970s, in the wake of the Second Vatican Council, but it is based on the ancient "order of catechumens," which dates to the earliest years of the church's history.

RCIA is a faith formation process designed primarily for adults who have not been baptized in any faith and are intentionally seeking God in their lives. Additionally, it is for those baptized in other faiths, as well as baptized Catholics who have never completed their sacraments of initiation, specifically confirmation and Eucharist.

Those who seek God as an adult have an opportunity to foster a closer relationship with him. RCIA helps people develop that relationship and discover great spiritual growth. Instructors teaching the fullness of the faith and relating it to holy Scriptures serve as guides. Individuals are aided by personal sponsors and a community of individuals with the shared interest of seeking out and coming to know God more closely.

The RCIA program guides the catechumen or candidate through four periods of development and three rites. Each rite marks the transition from one period to the next.

Please refer to the diocese website for further information.